直接转换-Spencer Gunn 的访谈

2019 年 12 月 8 日, 星期日

图片

Jacqueline Wheeler

采访人

直接转换的员工 Jacqueline Wheeler 针对万睿视影像采集的问题,采访首席执行官 Spencer Gunn。

 

直接转换是怎样形成的?

直接转换 于 2009 年初见雏形。当时,我们遇到一个机会,将 XCounter(一家瑞典光子计数技术公司)与 Ajat (一家芬兰公司,擅于混成技术,能够生产可靠的高产传感器,用于电荷积分传感器,也就是现在的光子计数探测器)的技术专长汇集在一起。后来,我们选择了直接转换这个名字,因为它能通过我们共同的技术、使命和愿景将两家公司联合起来。我们将 X 射线和伽马光子直接转换为电子而不是光,这就是“直接转换”的意思。

 

你们的口号:“赋能的 X 射线成像”,是什么意思?

光子计数为我们的用户赋能,因为借助该技术收集的数据是量化的,而且像素值反映了检测到的光子的实际数量。通过我们的探测器所产生的图像为我们的用户提供了获取有关被检物更多信息的能力。

 

和间接转换相比,直接转换 X 射线有什么优势?

直接转换的 X 射线会直接转换为电信号,而间接转换的 X 射线需要首先转换为光,会引起模糊效应。使用直接转换技术的优势在于,我们转换 X 射线时可以避免这种模糊效应。解决了光模糊问题,直接转换和间接转换图像相比,X 射线成像更清晰并且具有更高的 MTF(调制传递函数)。

 

您能告知更多有关你们的光子计数技术的信息吗?

我们是首家将平价的光子计数引入大众市场的公司,正是如此,它可以用于对于安全性有高要求,但需要可控制的成本以保持低价系统的日常 X 射线检测中。

我们的 ASIC(由互补金属氧化物半导体进行实际计数)是一种成熟的产品,已经在各种各样的 X 射线成像应用中获得现场验证并实现商业化。因为它应用广泛,所以能够大量生产,因而也能保持平价。

 

光子计数探测器最适合哪些应用,现有哪些应用?

如果尝试识别并分离接受 X 射线的物体中的不同物质,我们的探测器尤其有用。它们可以检测加工后的肉中微小的骨头或燕麦中的 PVC 碎片。直接转换探测器具有高灵敏度和高效率,非常适合在注重电子散射抑制的应用中,实现非常高的能量成像。

 

直接转换的探测器在万睿视探测器产品系列中处于什么位置?相比互补金属氧化物半导体和 a-Si 探测器,它们具有什么优势?

直接转换的探测器最适合用于移动物体的成像,以及长成像(例如全身扫描)。

目前,我们的探测器是延时积分(TDI)探测器,但它们实际上是加和而非整合,因此实际上是延时加和(TDS)探测器。这种类型的探测器用于插槽扫描,而万睿视在收购之前没有提供针对此类应用的产品。

我们的 TDI 探测器在医疗和工业应用中使用,具有内在散射抑制和单位平方毫米成像成本低的优势,因为单行扫描仪可以扫描许多米的物体。在工业市场中,我们专注于传输机输送产品经过多个制造环节(包括 X 射线的检查)的生产线。

直接转换

我们的设备还适用于螺旋计算机断层扫描成像这一最大的医用传感器市场,并且我们正在开发 6 bin 多光谱计算机断层扫描成像探测器,帮助万睿视进入这一市场。

 

您的探测器在医疗应用中有什么优势,例如乳腺 X 射线检查和计算机断层扫描成像?

效率。转换器的厚度使我们能够在不损失分辨率的同时停用更多的 X 射线,这意味着通过低剂量成像高分辨率图像。当然,这对于乳腺 X 射线检查非常重要,因为在扫描过程中健康的女性也会受到辐射,所以剂量需要尽量降低。

对于计算机断层扫描成像,道理是一样的;我们可以捕获更多的 X 射线,通常更高的效率可以在更短的时间内创造相同的信号。光子计数能量区别意味着计算机断层扫描成像重建也将得到提高,并开辟了多光谱计算机断层扫描成像的全新领域,我们预计将在接下来的 5 至 10 年内推出。直接转换已经有一位乳腺计算机断层扫描成像领域的客户,他们已经推出了一套系统,可在曲面阵列中使用我们的传感器,这在现实世界中验证我们的技术是具有 CE 标记的设备。

 

您预计您的探测器如何融入万睿视的计算机断层扫描成像成套解决方案?

万睿视目前为计算机断层扫描成像系统中的许多 X 射线成像设备提供零件,但尚不具备计算机断层扫描成像探测器。我们的目标是利用我们的技术增加一套完全组装好并能直接用于插入计算机断层扫描成像系统其他部分的探测器子系统,从而扩展此类组件的供货范围。

 

能否告知有关你们的电荷集成技术产品线的更多信息?

电荷集成(CI)是我们的传统技术;在牙科市场上的应用非常成功,且是混成流程的起始点,促进直接转换成为将碲化镉(CdTe)用作转换介质的专家。在我们改用光子计数之后,CI 将被淘汰。我们不会再创造新的 CI 传感器,但会继续支持牙科和工业系统中使用它们的客户。

 

你们在制造牙科市场探测器方面拥有悠久的历史-是什么使你们的产品在这一应用领域脱颖而出,并拥有如此长的历史的?

优秀的图像品质为我们的成功奠定了基础。互补金属氧化物半导体只是稍稍地缩窄了图像品质的差距,而直接转换技术和 CdTe 的效率却造就了非常高品质的传感器和探测器。

 

针对牙科市场,您是否有新产品计划?

今年晚些时候,我们将推出牙科产品系列的光子计数型号,并且我们已经和新的客户携手合作实施该技术了。我们计划到 2021 年,将在市场上投入全景和头颅成像传感器,以及牙科计算机断层扫描成像小面积平板显示器。我们正在帮助现有客户尽可能实现无缝升级到该平台。

 

采用了数字技术的工业无损检测/质量控制市场获得了实现增长的切实机会。直接转换产品能为把握这个机遇做些什么?

直接转换产品在提供全新的检测方法以检测以前无法检测的物质的同时,还加快了检测速度。速度的提高是高效检测带来的结果,快速就意味着每小时检测更多产品的可能性,反过来将减少最终用户的成本,同时增加原厂系统制造商的价值。

我们可以通过实现以前无法实现的应用来改善食品安全检测效果,例如在具有复杂的吸收 X 射线影像背景的产品中发现 PVC。我们还可以改进石油和天然气工业中的焊接检测,通过更快、更全面的流程控制为合作伙伴创造价值。

直接转换

 

您最近在慕尼黑开设了应用创新中心。能否告知有关该中心的更多信息以及它将为客户提供什么服务?

该中心让客户有机会看到我们的探测器在实际应用中工作的情况。我们的目标是缩短评估时间,从而使我们能够更迅速地推进销售。我们可以为客户演示成像,增强他们对我们解决方案的信心,同时该中心可作为内外部学习枢纽。

将直接转换产品添加到我们的产品组合之后,我真切地体会到了万睿视的优势。您认为加入万睿视团队对于直接转换来说有哪些优势?

直接转换将会受益于万睿视遍布全球的业务,以及一支深谙 X 射线知识并且明白如何帮助改善安全和患者护理的专家团队。直接转换将能够利用这一人才库,并且依托自身成就,将光子计数推向主流,从而帮助万睿视继续作为 X 射线成像技术的先驱。

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Direct Conversion - An Interview with Spencer Gunn

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Picture

Jacqueline Wheeler

Interviewer

Jacqueline Wheeler from Direct Conversion sits down to interview Spencer Gunn, CEO, about the Varex Imaging acquisition.

 

How was Direct Conversion formed?

Direct Conversion started to take shape in 2009 when we saw an opportunity to bring together the expertise of both XCounter, a Swedish photon counting technology company, and Ajat, a Finnish company  skilled in hybridization and makers of reliable, high yield sensors for use in charge integrating sensors and now photon counting detectors. Later, we chose the name Direct Conversion because it unites the two companies through our common technology, mission and vision. We convert X-ray and gamma photons directly to electrons instead of to light, this is what “direct conversion” means.

 

What do you mean by your tag line: “empowered X-ray imaging"?

Photon counting empowers our users because the data gathered from this technology is quantitative and the pixel values reflect the actual number of photons detected. The images generated by our detectors provide our users with the power to extract more information about the object being examined.

 

What is the advantage of direct conversion X-ray when compared to indirect conversion?

Directly converted X-rays are immediately turned into an electrical signal, whereas indirectly converted X-rays are converted into light first, which causes a blurring effect. The advantage of using direct conversion technology is that we avoid this blurring effect when converting X-rays. Without the light blur directly converted x-ray images can be sharper and have higher MTF (Modulation Transfer Function) than indirectly converted images.

 

Can you tell us more about your photon counting technology? 

We are the first company to bring affordable photon counting to the mass market so that it can be used in everyday X-ray inspection where high levels of safety are required but a manageable cost is desirable to keep the system price down.

Our ASIC, the CMOS that does the actual counting, is a mature product that has been field proven and commerciaized in a variety of X-ray imaging applications. Its broad range of applications means we manufacture high volumes and can therefore keep our prices affordable.

 

What applications are the photon counting detectors best suited to and used in? 

Our detectors are especially useful if one is trying to identify and separate different materials in the object being X-rayed. They can detect very small bones in processed meat or pieces of PVC in granola. The high sensitivity and high efficiency of direct conversion detectors also makes them the ideal choice for very high energy imaging, where electronic scatter rejection is essential.

 

Where will Direct Conversion’s detectors fit into the Varex detector portfolio and what advantages do they offer in comparison to CMOS and a-Si detectors?

Direct Conversion’s detectors are best used in imaging moving objects as well as long length imaging such as full body scanning.

At the moment, our detectors are Time Delay Integration (TDI) detectors, except that they actually sum instead of integrate, so really, they are Time Delay Summation (TDS) detectors. This type of detector is used for slot scanning and Varex did not have an offering for applications of this sort prior to the acquisition.

Our TDI detectors are used in medical and industrial applications and have the advantage of intrinsic scatter rejection and low cost per mm2 imaged because a single line scanner can scan many metres of object. In the industrial markets, we are focused on production lines where conveyors transport products through several stages of manufacture, including X-ray inspection.

Direct Conversion

Our devices are also suitable for helical CT, the largest medical sensor market, and we are developing a 6 bin multi-spectral CT detector so that Varex can enter this market.

 

What are the advantages of your detectors for medical applications such as mammography and CT?

Efficiency. The thickness of the convertor allows us to stop more X-rays without loss of resolution and this means low dose imaging with high resolution images. This is very important for mammography, of course, as healthy women are irradiated during a scan and the dose needs to be as low as reasonably achievable.

For CT, the same applies; we can capture more of the X-rays, in general, greater efficiency leads to the same signal in a shorter time. Photon counting energy discrimination means CT reconstructions can be improved too, as well as opening up a whole new field of multi spectral CT which we expect to emerge in the next 5 to 10 years. Direct Conversion already has a breast CT customer who has launched a system employing our sensors in a curved array and this validates our technology in a real world, CE marked device.

 

How do you expect your detectors to fit into Varex’s packaged solutions for CT?

Varex currently supplies many of the parts for X-ray imaging in a CT system, but it doesn’t have a CT detector.  With our technology, our goal is to expand these supplied components by adding a detector sub-system fully assembled and ready for use to plug into the rest of the CT system.

 

Tell us more about your charge integrating technology product line?

Charge integration (CI) is our legacy technology; it has been very successful in the dental market and was the starting point for the hybridization process that led to Direct Conversion becoming experts in using cadmium telluride (CdTe) as a converter. CI will be phased out as we move to photon counting. We will not create new CI sensors but will continue to support customers who use them in their dental and industrial systems.

 

You have a long history making detectors for the dental market - what makes your products for this application stand out and have such longevity?

Image quality underpins our success. While CMOS has narrowed the gap in image quality slightly, direct conversion technology and the efficiency of CdTe leads to very high-quality sensors and detectors.

 

Do you have any new products planned for the dental market?

We are launching a photon counting version of our dental range later this year and we are already working with new customers to implement this technology. We plan to have panoramic and cephalometric sensors as well as a dental CT small area flat panel on the market by 2021. We are supporting our existing customers so they can progress to this platform as seamlessly as possible.

 

There is a real opportunity for growth in the Industrial NDT / quality control market as they adopt digital technology. What do the Direct Conversion products offer for this opportunity?

Direct Conversion products offer fast inspection speeds in addition to completely new inspection methods to detect things that were previously undetectable. These speeds are a result of our efficiency in detection and fast speeds translate to the possibility of more products inspected per hour which in turn would reduce costs for the end user and increase value for the OEM system manufacturers.

We can improve food safety inspection by enabling applications that were not possible before, like finding PVC in products that have a complex background in absorption X-ray images. We can also improve weld inspection in the oil and gas industries and create value for our partners in faster, more thorough process control.

Direct Conversion

 

You have recently opened the Application Innovation Centre in Munich. Can you tell us more about the Centre and what it will offer to customers?

The Centre provides customers with an opportunity to see our detectors working in real applications. Our goal is to shorten the time for evaluation and therefore allow us to progress sales more rapidly. We can give customers demonstrations of imaging so they gain confidence in the solution we are offering, and the Centre can act as a hub for internal and external learning.

I can see real advantages for Varex from adding Direct Conversion products to our portfolio. What advantages do you think Direct Conversion will gain by joining the Varex team?

Direct Conversion will benefit from Varex’s global presence and a team of experts who understand X-ray and how we can help improve safety and patient care. Direct Conversion will be able to access this pool of talent and build on its success to push photon counting into the mainstream and help Varex to continue as a leader in X-ray imaging technologies.